Stupidity Run Amuck

well the title pretty much sums it up...my stupidity run amuck...consider this a disclaimer for what you read...

8/05/2005

an intellectual of the oatmeal raisin kind...

*the following is a letter that i wrote to myself back in february (?) on senior retreat...i received it in the mail today and i must say...i think myself a smart cookie*

Dear Carolyn,

How the hell are you? I'm sure you've cried half a dozen times in the last couple of months, you wuss. So as you now recall, we were instructed to write a letter to remind ourselves of what to keep in mind in college. So here it goes: Keep in mind that college is going to be a blast but not to let your friends excape you. Make sure to have at least 3 ways of contacting them at all times. Remember the joys of riding your motorcycle. Don't forget your sister. Insist that she comes to visit you because you'll need some aspect of home to reality check you every now and then. Email your dad. Call your mom. Visit your grandparents whether you like it or not. Get close to Aunt Shelly. You are going to need her. Make a shit load of new friends. Never forget who you are. Don't be afraid to show your feelings. Make it hard for people to embaress you. Don't forget all of the goodtimes you had in high school but don't bore your roommate with stories she doesn't care about. Don't lose sight of why you're at college. Get an education. Have the time of your life. Live on a budget. Work out every now and then. Play some form of softball. Don't take a boy to college. Hug someone every day. Have your own style. Don't drink too much. Never get caught. Don't sweat teh petty things. Don't pet the sweaty things. Love. Live. Ride to live. Live to ride. Rock and roll and all that jazz. Don't distrust "the system" but constantly question it. Find a church. Update your website. Carpe dium and all that shit. Some awkward moments are good. And remeber: "No running with scissors or any other pointy objects. It's all good fun till someone loses an eye."
~Carolyn

2 Comments:

At 10:52 AM, Blogger jacquelyn said...

whoa you're even witty when you're talking to yourself... impressive.

interesting that those letters finally came. i kindof just sat there when everybody was doing that so i guess i was telling my future self to do whatever the hell she feels like

 
At 1:15 PM, Blogger puc said...

my letter to my self went something like this: "dear missy- i know you hate these things, so let's just bs this whole page. you know what's cool? stuff. yah. good luck in college you freak."

i hate retreats. i hate the letters to yourself you write at retreats even more.

 

Post a Comment

<< Home